FRA-OS/ Import

The FRA-OS/ Import digital platform will standardize, simplify and speed up Customs import processes at Frankfurt Airport. In addition to investor Fraport AG and software provider DAKOSY, other vital project partners include the Freight Forwarding and Logistics Association of Hesse-Rhineland-Palatinate (SLV), the Association of Air Cargo Handlers Germany (VACAD), and the Customs Office CargoCity Frankfurt Airport. Together they seek to further advance digitalization in the cargo business and secure Frankfurt Airport's role as Europe's leading cargo hub. In its development, the project partners are building on the already-successful FAIR@Link communication platform. FAIR@Link will remain the location’s central platform and DAKOSY will continue to expand its further development. FRA-OS will broaden the platform to include important site-specific topics and cross-sectional functions for air cargo in Frankfurt.

As of August 2021, FRA-OS/ Import complies with the requirements from the EU Customs Code, which are particularly challenging in terms of 1:1 referencing at HAWB level for consolidated goods.

EU Customs Code requirements:

  • ICS 1: Provision of the Entry Summary Declaration (ESumA or ENS) at least 4 hours before landing for risk assessment by Customs
  • 1:1 referencing (eSumA:SumA): Presentation at the HAWB level by the cargo handling agent or by the carrier (which is now also possible)
  • Proof of the current location and immediate presentation of the cargo after landing

 

In order to trace shipments, Customs will in future require real-time status reports from all involved parties.

FAQs...

Until now, when importing consolidated air cargo, the summary declaration filing has been done at the Master AWB level. In the future, Customs plans to track each shipment at the HAWB level (or individual shipment level) in order to more accurately perform the risk assessment as a corollary to the ICS 1 declaration. This is also called 1:1 referencing. It is not an innovation. It is anchored in the ICS1 legal framework (legal basis: UCC, § 127 ff), and has been a part of the the Union Customs Code (UCC for short) since 2013.

The party who presents the goods assumes liability with Customs for the correctness of the information and for the implementation of instructions, particularly in regard to any possible sanction locks! They must ensure that each individual consignment is counted and presented. For this purpose, the consolidated goods must be broken down into individual parts. In order to slightly reduce this additional work, Customs has made one small concession. The carrier - if they are located within the Customs office district of Frankfurt Airport (within CCS) - can make the presentation at his gateway.

1:1 referencing means that the information stored in ATLAS on the basis of the ICS 1 declaration (ENS or Entry Summary Declaration), in particular regarding risk sanction locks, is displayed at the time of presentation in such a way that it can be tracked and processed at the first Airport of Entry into the EU.

Legal basis: Union Customs Code, § 127 ff

The new rules of the game for consolidated cargo affect the airline as primary importer of the goods into the European Community, as well as their respective GHA and airline CHA, and now also any carriers authorized to carry out presentation (with EORI number).

New for Frankfurt: authorized carriers are allowed to present consolidated freight shipments at an airport Customs warehouse! The presentation must be carried out in a Customs warehouse within the area of activity of the Border Customs Office CargoCity Frankfurt Airport. Transfer shipments also in the RFS (Road Feeder Services) must therefore also be presented on airport property.


 [GW1]RFS = road feeder services? Or does this need to be translated?

Carriers who want to use FRA-OS/ Import must register with FRA-OS/ Import.

Carriers who want to qualify for the right to present to Customs must register in FRA-OS/ Import in a specially designated database ("White List")!

1:1 referencing - the procedure

These carriers are authorized to perform the presentation of shipments in a Customs warehouse on airport property by means of a so-called Customs warehouse at airport procedure. The authorization must be confirmed by the airline’s CHA in each case. Afterwards, the authorized party automatically receives the import data record from FRA-OS/Import.

Many carriers already send so-called "transshipment lists" using FAIR@Link. In the future, the request for the import data record will also be made using these lists. This means that the data record will only be available if it has been requested and confirmed by the airline or its CHA. Of course, the carrier can also authorize his service provider to access the data record by means of the transshipment list. This makes the transshipment list even more important and, because of its new/additional function, it will in future be called a "procedural message." As soon as the data record is assigned, the carrier can begin the presentation process and the CHA is notified about who will be collecting the goods, or whether the CHA will need to present the goods on the carrier’s behalf.

As an alternative to this procedure, the carrier can also send a message to FRA-OS via EDI, or access the platform via the web.

Since the presentation can be made not only by the airline’s CHA but also by the carrier, Customs will not be exactly sure where the goods are located for several hours after landing. Therefore, Customs requires traceability of shipments in the form of real-time status updates from all parties who come into contact with the shipment - starting with the ground handling service that unloads the aircraft.

 

As a carrier, your first task is to indicate which AWB you want to claim. This is done via the procedural message (formerly known as the transshipment list). The confirmation takes place automatically in FRA-OS. It’s not necessary for you to call anyone or to write an e-mail. Your handling partner will ensure that the information reaches you as quickly as possible.

As soon as the goods arrive at your warehouse, Customs expects to receive a status of the warehouse receipt. This ensures the necessary transparency.

 

It is planned to complete program development by the end of June and, after a subsequent testing phase, to go into full operation probably on August 1, 2021.

We will offer regular consultation hours during Q2 and also provide updates on progress and frequently asked questions on this website.

Do you have questions or would you like to participate in our workshops on the topic? Write to us at info@dakosy.de or fracargoteam@fraport.de.

FRA-OS/ Import

Die digitale Plattform FRA-OS/ Import wird die Zoll- und Importprozesse am Frankfurter Flughafen standardisieren, vereinfachen und beschleunigen. Neben der Fraport AG als Investor und DAKOSY als Softwarehaus zählen der Speditions- und Logistikverband Hessen-Rheinland-Pfalz (SLV), der Verband der Air Cargo Abfertiger Deutschland (VACAD) und das für Fracht zuständigen Zollamt am Frankfurter Flughafen zu den wichtigsten Projektpartnern. Gemeinsam will man die Digitalisierung im Frachtgeschäft weiter vorantreiben und die Rolle des Frankfurter Flughafens als führender Frachthub Europas manifestieren. Bei der Entwicklung bauen die Projektpartner auf der bereits erfolgreich etablierten Kommunikationsplattform FAIR@Link auf. Grundsätzlich wird FAIR@Link auch weiterhin die zentrale Kommunikationsplattform am Standort bleiben und in dieser Funktion von Dakosy weiterentwickelt. FRA-OS wird diese jedoch um wichtige standortspezifische Themen und Querschnittsfunktionen für die Luftfracht in Frankfurt erweitern.

Ab August 2021 erfüllt FRA-OS/ Import die Anforderungen aus dem EU-Zollkodex, die insbesondere in Bezug auf die 1:1 Referenzierung auf HAWB-Ebene für konsolidierte Waren herausfordernd sind.

Anforderungen aus dem EU-Zollkodex:

  • ICS 1: Bereitstellung der Summarische Eingangsmeldung (ESumA bzw. ENS) bis 4h vor Landung für die Risikobewertung durch den Zoll
  • 1:1 Referenzierung (eSumA:SumA) Gestellung auf HAWB Ebene durch den Cargo Handling Agenten oder neu auch durch den Spediteur möglich
  • Nachweis der unverzüglichen Gestellung und des Verbleibs der Fracht nach Landung

 

Für die Nachverfolgbarkeit der Sendungen verlangt der Zoll künftig zeitgenaue Statusmeldungen, und zwar von allen Beteiligten.

Das Wichtigste schnell erklärt...

Beim Import von konsolidierter Luftfracht wird die SumA-Gestellung bislang auf Master AWB Ebene vorgenommen. Künftig möchte der Zoll jede Sendung auf HAWB-Ebene (bzw. Einzelsendungsebene) verfolgen, um die Risikoprüfung in Konsequenz der ICS 1 Anmeldung genauer vornehmen zu können. Das wird auch 1:1 Referenzierung genannt. Es ist keine Neuerung. Im ICS1-Gesetzrahmen (Rechtsgrundlage: UZK, § 127 ff) ist es bereits verankert, ebenso seit 2013 im Unions Zoll Kodex (kurz UZK).

Derjenige, der gestellt, übernimmt dem Zoll gegenüber die Haftung für die Richtigkeit der Angaben sowie für die Umsetzung der in evtl. Sperrvermerken erteilten Weisungen! Er muss dafür Sorge tragen, dass auch wirklich jede Sendung gezählt und gestellt wird. Dafür muss die konsolidierte Ware aufgebrochen werden. Um die erforderliche Mehrarbeit in Grenzen zu halten, macht der Zoll ein kleines Zugeständnis. Der Spediteur – sofern er im Zollamtsbezirk des Frankfurter Flughafens (in der CCS) sitzt - kann die Gestellung in seinem Gateway vornehmen.

ICS Import Control System - Beispiel für die Registrierung von Sammelgut

Verpflichtung der Airlines zur Einhaltung der EU-Verordnung Nr. 952/2013 (UNION CUSTOMS CODE)

Die 1:1 Referenzierung besagt, dass bei der Gestellung die in ATLAS aufgrund der ICS 1 Anmeldung (ENS bzw. EsumA) hinterlegten Informationen insbesondere zu Risikosperrvermerken so aufgezeigt werden, dass sie am First Airport of Entry in die EU nachgehalten und abgearbeitet werden können.

Rechtsgrundlage: UZK, § 127 ff

Die neue Spielregel für konsolidierte Fracht betrifft die Airline als Primär-Importeur der Waren in die europäische Gemeinschaft, die Erfüllungsgehilfen GHA und Airline CHA sowie neu die zur Durchführung der Gestellung  berechtigten Spediteure (mit EORI Nr.).

Neu für Frankfurt gilt, dass berechtigten Spediteuren erlaubt ist, konsolidierte Frachtsendungen in einem Zollverwahrlager on airport zu gestellen!
Die Gestellungen müssen in Zollverwahrlagern innerhalb des Tätigkeitsbereiches des Grenzollamts Fracht Frankfurt Flughafen durchgeführt werden. Transfersendungen auch im RFS müssen deshalb ebenfalls on airport gestellt werden.

Spediteure, welche FRA-OS/ Import nutzen wollen, müssen sich an FRA-OS/ Import registrieren.
Spediteure, welche sich für die Durchführung von Gestellungen qualifizieren wollen, müssen sich in FRA-OS/ Import in einer extra dafür vorgesehenen Datenbank („White List“) registrieren!

1:1-Referenzierung - das Verfahren

Diese Spediteure dürfen mittels einer sog. Verfahrensmeldung (muss eine SendungsID enthalten) die Gestellungstätigkeit für diese Sendung in einem Zollverwahrlager on airport durchzuführen. Die Berechtigung ist durch den Airline-CHA jeweils zu bestätigen. Anschließend erhält der Berechtigte automatisch den Importdatensatz aus FRA-OS/ Import übermittelt.

Viele Spediteure schicken bereits sogenannte „Umfuhrlisten“ an FAIR@Link. Mit diesen wird zukünftig auch der Request für den Importdatensatz gestellt. Das bedeutet, den Datensatz gibt es nur, wenn dieser angefragt und von CHA oder Airline bestätigt wurde. Natürlich kann der Spediteur auch seinen Dienstleister mittels der Umfuhrliste an dem Datensatz berechtigen. Damit wird die Umfuhrliste noch wichtiger und heißt, wegen ihrer neuen / zusätzlichen Funktion künftig „Verfahrensmeldung“. Sobald der Datensatz zugeordnet ist, kann der Spediteur die Gestellung selbst durchführen und der CHA weiss, wer die Ware abholen wird und ob er ggf selbst gestellen muss.

Alternativ zu dieser Vorgehensweise kann der Spediteur auch eine Nachricht per EDI an FRA OS  senden oder per Klick im Web tätig werden.

Wenn die Gestellung nicht mehr zwingend beim CHA  sondern auch beim Spediteur erfolgen kann, weiss der Zoll künftig für einige Stunden nicht, wo sich die Ware befindet. Daher verlangt der Zoll eine Nachverfolgbarkeit der Sendungen in Form von Statusmeldungen, und zwar von jedem, der die Sendung in die Hände bekommt – angefangen beim Bodenverkehrsdienst, der das Flugzeug entlädt.

 

Als Spediteur müssen Sie als erstes mitteilen, welche AWB Sie beanspruchen. Das erfolgt mit der Verfahrensmeldung (ehemals Umfuhrliste). Die Rückmeldung erfolgt automatisch in FRA OS. Sie müssen also niemanden anrufen oder eine E-Mail schreiben. Ihr Handlingpartner sorgt dafür, dass die Information schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen ankommt.

Sobald die Ware bei Ihnen im Lager angekommen ist, erwartet der Zoll einen Status zum Lagereingang. Damit ist die notwendige Transparenz sichergestellt.

 

Es ist geplant, bis Ende Juni die Programmentwicklung abzuschließen und nach anschließender Testphase voraussichtlich am 1. August 2021 in Betrieb zu gehen.

Wir werden im 2. Quartal regelmäßig offene Sprechstunden anbieten und auch auf dieser Webseite über den Fortschritt und häufig gestellte Fragen informieren.

Haben Sie Rückfragen oder würden Sie gerne an unseren Workshops zum Thema teilnehmen? Schreiben Sie uns unter info@dakosy.de oder fracargoteam@fraport.de.